Close this search box.
Close this search box.

The Longest Win Streaks in F1 History: Who Never Stopped Never Stopping?

Periods of dominance are normal in F1 but which drivers were the most dominant? ...

People may be upset about Max Verstappen and Red Bull’s dominance in 2023, but periods of dominance are nothing new to Formula 1. The sport has often been defined by these periods with some of the most famous names emerging from them like Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton.

Instead of being bothered by dominance, we should be celebrating the drivers and teams who earned their achievements. F1 is supposed to be a meritocracy after all, so let’s take a look at those who achieved the longest win streaks in F1 history.

10. The Three-Win Club

Niki Lauda

There are a few notable world champions with a three-win streak. Niki Lauda managed to get three wins in a row twice from the Monaco GP to the Swedish GP in 1975, then again from the 1975 United States GP to the South African GP in 1976, both times with a Ferrari.

Similarly, Jackie Stewart did it twice as well, once in 1969 for Matra International and again in 1971 for Elf Tyrell.  Mika Hakkinen did it over the 1997 season through to the start of 1998 with McLaren, as did Juan Manual Fangio in 1954 for Maserati.  

9. The Four-Win Club

Ayrton Senna

It may surprise you to know that Ayrton Senna never won more than four races in a row, but he did almost surpass that number twice. Once in 1988 and again in 1991 both with McLaren.  

Alain Prost managed four wins in his final season in 1993 with Williams. Fernando Alonso managed it in 2006 with Renault, as did Jim Clark for Lotus in 1963, Jochen Rindt again for Lotus in 1970. Damon Hill managed it for Williams in 1995-96, and finally Jenson Button did it in 2009 for Brawn.

8. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – Five Wins

Lewis Hamilton might have won more grands prix than anyone else (103), but he’s never had a streak longer than five wins. Despite that, Hamilton has managed this feat twice. Once in 2014 from Italy to the USA which helped him beat his teammate, Nico Rosberg, that season and again in 2020 from Germany to Bahrain. Unfortunately, Hamilton couldn’t continue his streak because he had contracted COVID-19.

He has also achieved four wins in row on five occasions. Once in 2014, twice in 2016, once in 2018, and once in 2019.

7. Nigel Mansell (Williams) – Five Wins

In 1992, Nigel Mansell was given an Adrian Newey designed Williams FW14B, a car that was head and shoulders above the rest that season. From the start, Mansell took home five poles and victories starting from South Africa and ending in Imola. He took pole in Monaco shortly afterwards but was beaten by Ayrton Senna thanks to a loose wheel nut in the final eight laps. While that was unfortunate, taking home the Drivers’ Championship that season was likely consolation enough.

6. Jack Brabham (Cooper) – Five Wins

Australian driver, Jack Brabham, didn’t have a good start to the 1960 season. He suffered a DNF in Argentina and was disqualified in Monaco. But once he got the Dutch Grand Prix, he showed what he was made of (pure speed) taking pole and managing a 24 second lead once he reached the chequered flag. He took three more poles and victories in as many races until he took home win number five in Portugal.

5. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) – Seven Wins

Nico Rosberg was taking no prisoners in 2016. After losing to Lewis Hamilton again in 2015, he knew he had to hit the ground running to beat him. And beat Hamilton he did after gaining some momentum in 2015 by winning the final three races. Once the 2016 season started, Rosberg managed to win the first four races until the pair clashed in Spain, handing the victory to Max Verstappen in his debut for Red Bull.

4. Alberto Ascari (Ferrari) – Seven Wins

Alberto Ascari was an Italian racing legend who won 40% of all the F1 races he entered so seven straight wins in 1952 shouldn’t be a huge surprise. He won all six races in the 1952 season and the season opener in Argentina in 1953.

There is a caveat here though that could have seen his streak extended to nine wins.  The Indy 500 was then considered part of the F1 championship at the time, but Ascari didn’t attend. If you don’t count the Indy 500 then his subsequent wins in the Netherlands and Belgium would have taken his streak to nine.

3. Michael Schumacher (Ferrari) – Seven Wins

There were 13 races in 2004 and the only reason Michael Schumacher didn’t win all of them was due to a collision in Monaco. Already he won the first five races of the season before Monaco, and then won all seven races afterwards. This might’ve have been his longest win streak, but it wasn’t even the earliest he managed secured a championship, that happened in 2002 when he won the championship with six races to go.

2. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) – Nine Wins

In 2013, Sebastian Vettel broke the record for most consecutive wins in a season. It was a little spotty during the first 10 races with Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso, Nico Rosberg, and Lewis Hamilton all taking home wins, but after Belgium, no one could stop Vettel. It was to mark Vettel’s final win for Red Bull and an end to his four straight world titles.

1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 10 Wins

We are truly witnessing history in the making in 2023. Verstappen and Red Bull have discovered some secret sauce that Verstappen has used to perform some absolute magic this season. The only time this year that Max has looked shaky in the slightest was in Monaco during torrential rain and Monza where Ferrari was in uncharacteristic form.

He’s already broken the record for most consecutive wins, and we’re sure there’s going to be a few more records broken before the season is over.


No Excuses from Leclerc: “[Sainz] is Doing a Better Job”

Sauber to Introduce Permanent Pit Stop Fix “by Imola”

Ricciardo: “I’m Just Enjoying the Driving Now”

Introducing the Omega Speedmaster Chronoscope Paris 2024 Collection

Alonso Expects “Ferrari to be Very Fast” in China

Win a $500 Mont Blanc Gift Card

Sign up for our mailing list for a chance to win.